» cFosSpeed Documentation, Traffic Shaping for Filesharing (P2P)

Prioritize programs with cFosSpeed
  Program list
  Suggest new program

Traffic Shaping for Filesharing (P2P)

Thanks to cFosSpeed Traffic Shaping, you can finally use the full upstream bandwidth (with eMule, Kazaa or BitTorrent etc.) and make it available to other filenet users - without adversely affecting other Internet applications.

The problems with filesharing software

Running filesharing programs (like eMule, Kazaa or BitTorrent) will usually take up most if not all upstream channel bandwidth, which leaves the connection prone to high ping times. Not only does this mean filesharing communication itself will run slowly (source requests may take a full 1 or 2 seconds rather than just a few milliseconds), but it will also choke other Internet applications to a crawl. By the same token, download rates may plummet, since TCP ACKs are not being sent out in time. The browser will also become noticeably less responsive while surfing the Net.

A popular workaround offered by many filesharing programs is to put an artificial cap on the upload rate.

However, if you are simultaneously running a mail upload in addition to a filesharing upload, both will compete for available upstream bandwidth. How much bandwidth each of these uploads will eventually receive is basically left to happenstance. In some cases, this may even lead to termination of all TCP connections (TCP connection starving).

The solution: Traffic Shaping

cFos Traffic Shaping

The priority scheme integrated in cFos and cFosSpeed (re)organizes data packets in a manner that ensures maximum download rates for filesharing programs. In addition, cFos and cFosSpeed deprioritize filesharing data transfer. Now, this should not be taken to mean such traffic is artificially slowed or even altogether stalled. What it does mean, however, is that such data will be briefly delayed when more important data is being transmitted. Only this priority scheme makes it possible to have filesharing programs run at maximum transfer rates while still using the same connection for other applications at the same time.

For instance, if you have a filesharing program running in the background when surfing the Net, there will only be a brief, minimal slowdown in P2P traffic while a new page is being loaded. Likewise, when sending out longer e-mails, P2P upload rates may briefly drop somewhat while the mail is being transmitted. Once the mail is sent, all uploads will continue at full speed again. The only alternatives would be to postpone transmission of the mail "forever" or artificially limit transfer bandwidth for filesharing somehow. But this would also mean a loss of bandwidth even when no other application is using the same connection.

cFosSpeed is thus optimized for use with filesharing (p2p) software, allowing users to have such a program run in the background without noticing its regular Internet activity.

Therefore, we suggest setting Kazaa etc. to "unlimited upload" while deactivating the "speed sense" option, since cFosSpeed will already optimize Internet traffic anyway.

Icon skin

Since most users have their filesharing programs run 24 hours a day, cFosSpeed comes with its own icon skin for this, making it possible to keep track of the connection without needing to have a separate status window open at all times.

Prioritization:

Quite a few users have one PC set aside specifically for filesharing and route P2P traffic (e.g., via Internet Connection Sharing) through a main computer directly hooked up to the Internet. In this case, the Layer-7 Protocol Detection integrated in cFos and cFosSpeed permits prioritization of the most important P2P networks like BitTorrent, eDonkey 2000 (eMule, etc.), Kazaa, Gnutella(2), Kademlia, and Direct Connect.

Prioritizing Programs:

Dialog for program prioritization

cFos and cFosSpeed also permit prioritizing programs by their name. Many of the most important programs have already been included in our program setting list. This way of prioritizing is especially useful when the Layer-7 detection cannot recognize and assign data properly (as would, for instance, be the case with encrypted P2P traffic).

DSL connection settings

Optimizing Connection Settings:

You can specify exactly what transfer medium you use under Connection Settings. The more information about a connection is available to cFos or cFosSpeed, the better ping times will be. Default is "Adaptive". But if you were for instance using a DSL connection, you should select the appropriate DSL standard or protocol as your medium.

Powered by cFos Personal Net Web Server
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty

cFosSpeed ist der offizielle Internet Beschleuniger für ASUS, GIGABYTE, ASRock und MSI Gaming Produkte

Mit cFosSpeed Programme priorisieren
Programm-Liste
Neues Programm vorschlagen

Traffic Shaping für Tauschbörsen (P2P)

Dank cFosSpeed Traffic Shaping können Sie mit eMule, Kazaa, BitTorrent, etc. die gesamte Upstream-Bandbreite voll ausnutzen und anderen Filenetz-Teilnehmern zur Verfügung stellen, ohne Ihre anderen Internet-Anwendungen in Mitleidenschaft zu ziehen.

Die Probleme mit Tauschbörsen-Programmen

Nutzer von Tauschbörsen, wie eMule, Kazaa, BitTorrent haben typischerweise Dauer-Auslastung des Upstream-Kanals. Dadurch ist der Anschluss besonders anfällig für hohe Ping-Zeiten. Dies hat nicht nur zur Folge, dass die Kommunikation der Tauschbörsen-Software langsam läuft (Source-Anfragen dauern dann 1-2 Sekunden, statt nur wenige Millisekunden), sondern das Internet wird bei allen anderen Anwendungen ebenfalls ausgebremst. Download-Raten brechen unter Umständen ein, weil die TCP ACKs nicht mehr rechtzeitig verschickt werden können. Der Browser wirkt beim Surfen träge.

Als Ausweg bieten die Tauschbörsen-Programme an, die Upload-Rate künstlich zu beschränken.

Wenn Sie allerdings zusätzlich zum Upload des Tauschbörsen-Programms noch einen Mail-Upload durchführen, konkurrieren beide um die Upstream-Bandbreite. Es ist dann dem Zufall überlassen, wer wieviel Bandbreite erhält. Dies kann im Extremfall zum Abbruch von TCP Verbindungen führen (TCP connection starving).

Die Lösung: Traffic Shaping

cFos Traffic Shaping

Das in cFos bzw. cFosSpeed eingebaute Prioritätsschema sortiert die Datenpakete so um, dass Tauschbörsen mit maximaler Downloadrate arbeiten können. Zusätzlich priorisiert cFos bzw. cFosSpeed den Transfer der Tauschbörsen herunter. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass sie künstlich ausgebremst werden, sondern nur falls andere wichtige Daten vorliegen. Dieses Prioritätsschema macht es überhaupt erst möglich, der Tauschbörse maximale Transferraten zu erlauben und den Anschluss gleichzeitig noch für andere Anwendungen zu nutzen.

Wenn Sie z.B. auf Ihrem PC im Hintergrund eine Tauschbörse betreiben und im Netz surfen, wird nur für den kurzen Moment des Seitenaufbaus der P2P-Traffic minimal gesenkt. Schicken Sie eine längere Mail, kann der P2P-Upload für die Dauer der Mail-Übertragung sinken. Sobald die Mail versendet ist, geht es mit voller Speed weiter. Die Alternative wäre, entweder "ewig" auf den Mailtransfer zu warten oder die Tauschbörse künstlich zu limitieren. Dies kostet aber auch dann Bandbreite, wenn keine andere Anwendung den Anschluss nutzt.

cFosSpeed ist also so auf den Einsatz mit Tauschbörsen-Software (P2P) optimiert, dass man ein solches Tauschbörsen-Programm im Hintergrund laufen lassen kann und normalerweise von dessen Internet-Aktivität nichts bemerkt.

Daher schlagen wir vor, Kazaa etc. auf unbeschränkten Upload einzustellen und die Speed-Sense Option zu deaktivieren, da cFosSpeed den Internet-Traffic ohnehin optimiert.

Icon-Skin

Da Nutzer ihre Tauschbörsen normalerweise 24 Stunden durchlaufen lassen, enthält cFosSpeed hierfür ein eigenes (Icon-)Skin für den Windows-Systray. So hat man die Verbindung im Überblick, ohne dass ein eigenes Status Fenster geöffnet sein muss.

Priorisierung:

Viele haben einen eigenen PC für die Tauschbörse. Sie routen dann (z.B. mit der Internet Verbindungsfreigabe) den P2P-Traffic durch ihren Hauptrechner, der direkt mit dem Internet verbunden ist. Die in cFos bzw. cFosSpeed eingebaute Layer-7 Protokoll-Erkennung erlaubt in diesem Fall die Priorisierung der wichtigsten P2P-Netze: BitTorrent, eDonkey 2000 (eMule, etc.), Kazaa, Gnutella(2), Kademlia und Direct Connect.

Programm-Priorisierung:

Einstellungen Programm-Priorisierung

Zusätzlich bietet cFos bzw. cFosSpeed an, Traffic nach Programm-Namen zu priorisieren. Hier haben wir die wichtigsten bereits eingetragen. Diese Priorisierung greift, wenn die Layer-7 Erkennung die Daten nicht zuordnen kann, z.B. bei verschlüsseltem P2P Verkehr.

DSL Anschlusseinstellungen

Anschluss-Einstellung optimieren:

Unter Einstellungen, Verbindungen können Sie für Ihre Verbindung das genaue Übertragungsmedium einstellen. Je mehr cFos bzw. cFosSpeed über den Anschluss weiß, desto besser die Ping-Zeiten. Standard ist "Adaptiv". Wenn Sie aber z.B. einen DSL-Anschluss haben, sollten Sie als Medium die für Ihren Anschluss zutreffende DSL-Variante wählen.