» Routing configuration with cFosSpeed

Routing:

Router Mode/Bridge Mode:

You can use cFosSpeed at a router either in router mode or in bridged mode. cFosSpeed automatically switches to the right mode depending on the IP address of your network card. Normally your PC has a private IP address, while your router uses a public IP address. Should you, however, use a router and still use a public IP address for your PC cFosSpeed switches to bridged mode. It assumes all traffic goes through your router into the Internet and must therefore counted for Traffic Shaping. You can force router mode (i.e., turn off bridged mode) by using

spd set inhibit_bridged=1

If you use a DSL modem, it is normally in bridged mode. This is also true for cable modems. If you use a DSL and cable modem simultaneously, you should connect them to two different network adapters. Otherwise (at least broadcast) traffic can lead to loss of bandwidth.

VPN:

cFosSpeed supports VPN. To use Traffic Shaping for VPN you must adjust the key ping_dest in section [param] in the file global.ini. Set it to ping_dest=a.b.c.d , to an address for which the route via your VPN is used. Default value for ping_dest is 194.95.249.23 (www.cfos.de), ie. a public address. Please note that cFosSpeed uses pings which never reach the destination, see ping for details. So, if you use the public Internet via your VPN you don't need to change anything. If you, however, log into a private network, via VPN, you need to use an IP address for ping_dest which is within this private network.

You also can use Traffic Shaping on the raw data, which is send by the VPN adapter to the VPN host. Then you need to set ping_dest to the address of this VPN host.

If cFosSpeed recognize a Cisco VPN Adapter, the automatic unbind operation to network adapters is deactivated. In this case, we recommend to set Traffic Shaping for all relevant network adapters manually to "yes" or "no" in the "options" -> "connections" dialog.

With an additional entry keep_bindings=1 in the [param] section of global.ini you can disable all automatic unbind operations. Sometimes this is necessary because it can interrupt traffic.

Several Connections simultaneously:

cFosSpeed also supports several connections simultaneously. You need to set up keys in the [param] section of global.ini. Use ping_dest=a.b.c.d for the first connection, ping_dest2=... for the second, etc. The ping destinations define for which routes / adapters Traffic Shaping shall be used.

cFosSpeed also supports multiple simultaneous connections with Routing for RAS (RRAS) and/or also with several network adapters simultaneously.

Several IP address per adapter:

cFosSpeed automatically supports up to 16 IP addresses, which are configured per adapter.

Using multiple routers in cascaded mode:

If your connection to the Internet goes through several routers, you can change the subnet mask so that cFosSpeed can distinguish between traffic for LAN and the Internet.

cFosSpeed already knows the network interface that is used to send data to the Internet and it got the subnet mask OF YOUR SUBNET. But if you use multiple routers it doesn't know about the subnet mask of the next-hop subnet. But all traffic OUTSIDE of your subnet is considered Internet traffic. So you can specify a different subnet mask manually.

To do that add the MAC address of the router to section [subnet_override] in global.ini, followed by an equal sign and the desired new subnet mask, like this:

   [subnet_override]
   11:22:33:44:55:66=255.255.0.0

If you don't know the MAC address of your router, use "spd ports". It's the router_mac value.

::

Powered by cFos Personal Net Web Server
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty

Routing-Einstellungen für cFosSpeed - Internet-Beschleuniger + Ping-Optimierer - cFos Software
» Routing-Einstellungen für cFosSpeed

Routing:

Router-Modus/Bridge-Modus:

Sie können cFosSpeed an einem Router entweder im Router-Modus oder im Bridge-Modus betreiben. cFosSpeed schaltet automatisch in den richtigen Modus, abhängig von der IP Adresse Ihrer Netzwerkkarte. Normalerweise hat Ihr PC eine private IP adresse, während der Router eine öffentliche IP Adresse verwendet. Sollte Sie, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, dennoch eine öffentliche IP Adresse für Ihren Rechner verwenden, schaltet cFosSpeed in den Bridge-Modus. cFosSpeed geht dann davon aus, dass sämtlicher Datenverkehr durch Ihren Router ins Internet geht und für Traffic Shaping berücksichtigt werden muss. Sie können den Router-Modus manuell setzen, in dem Sie die folgende Variable setzen:

spd set inhibit_bridged=1

Falls Sie ein DSL-Modem haben, sollte dies im Bridge-Modus betrieben werden. Dies gilt auch für Kabel-Modems. Falls gleichzeitig ein DSL-Modem und ein Kabel-Modem betreiben, sollten Sie diese an 2 separate Netzwerkkarten hängen. Andernfalls könnten (zahlreiche) ARP Requests und andere Broadcasts zu Einbußen in der Bandbreite führen.

VPN:

cFosSpeed unterstützt VPN. Um Traffic Shaping über VPN Verbindungen zu nutzen, müssen Sie in der Datei global.ini in der [param] section den Wert ping_dest=a.b.c.d auf eine Adresse setzen, deren Route über dieses VPN läuft. Standart-Wert ist 194.95.249.23 (www.cfos.de). Bitte beachten Sie dass cFosSpeed Pings verwendet, die niemal ihr Ziel erreichen (mehr dazu erfahren sie unter: ping ). Falls Sie also über ein VPN ins öffentliche Internet gehen, brauchen Sie nichts einzustellen. Falls Sie sich aber über VPN in ein anderes privates Netz einloggen, müssen Sie unter ping_dest eine IP-Adresse aus diesem Netz angeben.

Sie können auch die Roh-Daten, die der VPN-Adapter an den VPN-Host schickt, Traffic Shapen. Dann müssen Sie die IP-Adresse des VPN-Host eintragen.

Falls cFosSpeed einen Cisco VPN Adapter im System erkennt, wird das automatische Binden an Netzwerkkarten deaktiviert. In diesem Falle müssen Sie von Hand im Verbindungsdialog Traffic Shaping für die jeweiligen Netzwerkkarten aktivieren bzw. deaktivieren.

Mit dem zusätzlichen Eintrag des Parameters keep_bindings=1 in der [param] -Sektion der global.ini-Datei können Sie unbind-Operationen für scheinbar nicht verwendete Netzwerk-Adapter abschalten. Nutzen Sie dies bei VPN-Verbindungsabbrüchen.

Mehrere Verbindungen gleichzeitig:

cFosSpeed unterstützt mehrere Verbindungen gleichzeitig. Hierzu müssen Sie in der Datei global.ini in der [param] section den Wert ping_dest=a.b.c.d für die erste Verbindung eintragen, ping_dest2=... für die zweite, etc.

cFosSpeed unterstützt gleichzeitige Verbindungen mit Routing for RAS (RRAS) und/oder über mehrere Netzwerkkarten.

Mehrere IP Adressen pro Adapter:

cFosSpeed kann bis zu 16 IP-Adressen, die in Ihrem Betriebssystem pro Adapter eingetragen sind, erkennen.

Mehrere Router hintereinander geschaltet:

Falls Ihre Verbindung ins Internet über mehrere Router läuft, können Sie die Subnet Mask so ändern, daß cFosSpeed zwischen LAN- und Internet-Verkehr unterscheiden kann.

cFosSpeed kennt normalerweise schon das Network Interface, das zum Senden von Daten ins Internet benutzt wird und es hat auch schon die Subnet Mask IHRES SUBNET. Aber, falls Sie mehrere Router nutzen, kennt cFosSpeed nicht die Subnet Maske des next-hop Subnet. Da aber sämtlicher Verkehr ausserhalb Ihres Subnet als Internet Verkehr betrachtet wird, müssen Sie eine andere Subnet Mask von Hand eintragen.

Dies wird dadurch eingestellt, daß Sie die MAC Adresse Ihres Routers und die neue Subnet Mask in global.ini, section [subnet_override] eintragen:

   [subnet_override]
   11:22:33:44:55:66=255.255.0.0

Falls Sie die MAC Adresse Ihres Routers nicht kennen, nutzen Sie "spd ports", um sie anzuzeigen.

::

Powered by cFos Personal Net Webserver
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty