Product Overview » cFosSpeed » cFosSpeed Documentation

Traffic Shaping:

How Traffic Shaping work is explained here: Internet Acceleration with Traffic Shaping

There can only be one Traffic Shaper. Several Traffic Shapers after one another have disadvantages for the transfer speed. Therefore deactivate Traffic Shaping in your router. Also deactivate ACK prioritization.

In addition cFos / cFosSpeed offers RX shaping. This provides good ping times for downloads. It is activated by default.

Deactivate with:

   spd gset rx_shape 0 -save

Activate with:

   spd gset rx_shape 1 -save

Layer 7 protocol analysis:

cFos and cFosSpeed can analyze the data of the connections and recognize the most important protocols used in the Internet. This also works for protocols which don't use the default ports. In addition it allows to prioritize data of PCs which are connected to your PC via Internet Connection Sharing or other routing software.

The following protocols are supported:


   Standard:          HTTP, FTP, POP3, SMTP, IMAP4
   VoIP:              RTP, RTCP, SIP
   Special:           Telnet, SSH, SSL, IRC, DNS, (S)NTP, RPC
   Filesharing (P2P): eDonkey, Kazaa, Bittorrent, Kademlia, Gnutella(2), Direct Connect
   Streaming Media:   HTTP-Streams with various players, as well as RTSP

The analyzer can distinguish between client and server mode. The dialog under "options" -> "settings", "protocols" allows a precise prioritization of each protocol. In addition there is a dialog for program prioritization , if the layer-7 analysis doesn't recognize some other protocol.

to support the analysis there is a logging mode, too. cFosSpeed creates log files of connections in the installation directory. The maximum file size is 100k, but you can to max. size X by the command.

   spd gset max_session_dump_size X

    activate logging:    spd gset dump_sessions X; gset dump_tcp_data 1
    deactivate logging:  spd gset dump_sessions 0

Values for X are:


    0=don't log connections.
    2=log, but delete automatically if no data except TCP SYN has beed transferred.
    3=log, like 2, but delete automatically if the proccol was recognized by the layer-7 analysis
    4=log, never delete

Program prioritization:

If cfos / cFosSpeed cannot recognize the protocol with layer-7 analisys, it tries to dermine the name of the program, which created this connection (XP or later). In the dialog for program prioritization under "options" -> "settings" you can assign each program one of five priorities. If your program is not in the list you can add it in the respective category. We also appreciate suggestions for other programs which should be in the list. Please report them here:

/contact/priopost.htm

Here is a list of programs already in the list:

http://www.cfos.de/traffic-shaping/priority-list.shtml

Tips for the prioritization:

  • Only use high prioritization for a small part of the tranferred data. If you use high prioritization for all data, it is actually the same situation as if you had prioritized nothing.
  • Use low prioritization for filesharing. Then you can disable traffic limits in your filesharing software. This means your filesharing software can now use the whole bandwidth of your internet connections, with disturbing other traffic. Only in the short time, when you, for example, send mail, the P2P traffic is slowed down. This policy gives filesharing software the maximum bandwidth, while allowing use of the internet connection for other applications simultaneously.

VoIP recognition:

cFos / cFosSpeed can recognize VoIP (RTP) by an analysis of the UPD data packets. There is a strict and a relaxed check. the strict check is default and assumes there is a RTCP connection for each RTP connection. If you use VoIP software which has no RTCP connections you can disable (in "options" -> "settings") the strict RTP check, e.g. for VoIPBuster.

Individual Traffic Shaping rules:

cFos and cFosSpeed have a filter language with rules to prioritize packets. See cFosSpeed Filter Expressions for details.



Powered by cFos Personal Net Web Server
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty

cFosSpeed ist der offizielle Internet Beschleuniger für ASUS, GIGABYTE, ASRock und MSI Gaming Produkte

Traffic Shaping:

Wie Traffic Shaping funktioniert erfahren Sie hier: Internet-Beschleunigung durch Traffic Shaping

Es kann nur einen Traffic Shaper geben. Mehrere hintereinander geschaltete Traffic Shaper wirken sich nachteilig auf den Datendurchsatz aus. Deaktivieren Sie also ggf. das Traffic Shaping in Ihrem Router. Deaktivieren Sie auch die ACK Priorisierung (ACK prioritization).

Zusätzlich bieten cFos und cFosSpeed noch RX-Shaping. Dies sorgt auch bei Downloads für gute Ping-Zeiten. Standardmäßig ist Rx-Shaping aktiviert.

Deaktivieren:

   spd gset rx_shape 0 -save

Aktivieren:

   spd gset rx_shape 1 -save

Layer 7 Protokoll Analyse:

cFos und cFosSpeed können die Nutzdaten der Verbindungen analysieren und daran die wichtigsten Internet Protokolle erkennen. Dies gilt auch für Protokolle, die nicht auf den dafür vorgesehenen Ports laufen. Ausserdem erlaubt es, Daten von PCs, die mittels Internet Verbindungsfreigabe, an dem PC angeschlossen sind, auf dem cFos bzw. cFosSpeed installiert ist.

Dies gilt für folgende Protokolle:

   Standard:          HTTP, FTP, POP3, SMTP, IMAP4
   VoIP:              RTP, RTCP, SIP
   Spezial:           Telnet, SSH, SSL, IRC, DNS, (S)NTP, RPC
   Filesharing (P2P): eDonkey, Kazaa, Bittorrent, Kademlia, Gnutella(2), Direct Connect
   Streaming Media:   HTTP-Streams mit diversen Playern, sowie RTSP

Hierbei unterscheidet die Analyse ggf. zwischen Server- und Client-Betrieb. Der Protokoll-Dialog unter Optionen, Einstellungen erlaubt genaue Priorisierung der einzelnen Protokolle. Zusätzlich steht Ihnen die Programm-Priorisierung zur Verfügung, falls die Layer 7 Analyse eine Protokoll nicht (er)kennen sollte.

Neben der eigentlichen Analyse steht Ihnen noch ein Logging-Modus zur verfügung. Hierbei legt cFosSpeed im Installationsverzeichnis von den Nutzden eine Log-Datei an. Die maximale Größe der Log-Datei ist standardmäßig 100k, kann aber mittels spd gset max_session_dump_size S auf die maximale Größe S verändert werden.

    Aktivieren:    spd gset dump_sessions X; gset dump_tcp_data 1
    Deaktivieren:  spd gset dump_sessions 0

Werte für X sind:

    0=keine Verbindungen loggen
    2=loggen, aber automatisch löschen, falls keine Nutzdaten außer TCP SYNs geflossen sind
    3=loggen, wie 2, aber ebenfalls automatisch löschen, falls das Protokoll mittels Layer 7 Analyse erkannt wurde.
    4=loggen und nie löschen

Programm-Priorisierung:

Kann cFos bzw. cFosSpeed das Protokoll nicht anhand der Layer 7 Analyse erkennen, prüft die Analyze ob es eine Priorität anhand des Programmnamens zuordnen kann (ab Windows XP). Im Programm- Priorisierungs-Dialog unter Optionen/Einstellungen können Sie jedem bekannten Programm eine von 5 Prioritäten geben. Falls cFos bzw. cFosSpeed ein bestimmtes Programm noch nicht kennt, können Sie es in diesem Dialog zu der jeweiligen Kategorie hinzufügen. Gerne nehmen wir Hinweise, welche Programme noch in die Liste einzutragen sind, hier entgegen:

http://www.cfos.de/contact/priopost.htm

Hier eine Liste, der und schon bekannten Programme:

http://www.cfos.de/traffic-shaping/priority-list.shtml

Tipps zur Priorisierung:

  • Nur wenig Nutzdaten hochpriorisieren. Wenn Sie alles hochpriorisieren ist es so, als hätten Sie gar nichts priorisiert.
  • Tauschbörsen herunterpriorisieren. Heben Sie in Ihrem Tauschbörsen-Programm Speed-Limits für Upload und Download auf. Dann steht der Tauschbörse die gesamte Bandbreite Ihres Anschluß zur Verfügung. Nur für die kurze Zeit, in der Sie z.B. Mail verschicken, wird der P2P Verkehr gebremst. Diese Politik stellt den Netzwerken von Tauschbörsen maximale Bandbreite zur Verfügung, erlaubt aber gleichzeitig die Nutzung des Anschluß für andere Anwendungen.

VoIP Erkennung:

cFos bzw. cFosSpeed können VoIP (RTP) mittels Analyse der UPD Datenpakete erkennen. Hierzu gibt es eine strikte und eine laxe Prüfung. Die strikte Prüfung ist Standard und setzt voraus, daß es zu jeder RTP Verbindung auch eine RTCP Verbindung geben muß. Sollte dies bei Ihrer RTP Anwendung nicht der Fall sein, können Sie im Dialog Optionen/Einstellungen die strikte RTP Prüfung ausschalten, z.B. bei VoIPBuster.

Individuelle Regeln mittels Filtersprache:

cFos bzw. cFosSpeed verfügt über eine Filtersprache, mit der die Regeln, mit denen die Pakete priorisiert werden sollen, definiert werden.

Hier die dazugehörige Doku: cFosSpeed Filter Expressions