cFosSpeed Documentation - How can I accelerate my online games? - Internet-Accelerator + Ping optimizer - cFos Software
» cFosSpeed Documentation, How can I accelerate my online games?

Prioritize programs with cFosSpeed
  Program list
  Suggest new program

How can I accelerate my online games?

Traffic Shaping technology does keep ping times low and transfer rates consistently high at the same time.

Still, to achieve optimal ping times, you should prioritize your game(s) as high as possible. You will find that we have already listed some of the currently most popular games under Program Settings. Should your game not be among the ones listed there, you can simply add it to the list.

Dialog for program prioritization

You can also let us know what online games you would like to have included on that list for future updates as well.

Please be careful to prioritize as few data and programs as possible in such a manner. This is because if you were to assign high priority to everything, you would be no better off than having nothing prioritized at all.

Alternatively, should the program name itself not be clear, you can also prioritize the ports used by the online game. If the TCP/UDP destination ports of an application are known, you can prioritize their data transfer as follows (by editing the [filter] section of the settings.ini file):

For TCP ports:<br />[filters]<br />; dest port=1234<br />filter=-tcp-dport 1234 -c high
For UDP ports:<br />[filters]<br />; dest port=1234<br />filter=-udp-dport 1234 -c high

After making those changes and saving them, the new settings still need to be loaded. This is done by opening the console (under Start, Program, cFosSpeed) and entering "spd reload". Your changes will take (and remain in) effect after the next time you restart your system.

cFosSpeed-Filter Manual (English)

DSL connection settings

Optimizing Connection Settings:

You can specify exactly what transfer medium you use under Connection Settings. The more information about a connection is available to cFos or cFosSpeed, the better ping times will be. Default is "Adaptive". But if you were for instance using a DSL connection, you should select the appropriate DSL standard or protocol as your medium.

Favor Ping:

Display favor ping

In addition, you can also use the settings in the context menu or status window to activate "Favor Ping". A green arrow will then show up on the status window. This setting will have cFos or cFosSpeed do everything to keep ping times to a minimum but at the expense of transfer speed, which may slow down considerably.


Playing While Downloading:

If you are playing a game online without Traffic Shaping and run an upload or download at the same time, ping times to your gameserver will rise. Less data traffic means better (i.e., lower) ping. Especially with filesharing programs and other applications that send out lots of data, ping times often skyrocket resulting in serious lag. This will also slow down your in-game reaction time horrendously.

Traffic Shaping alleviates this problem by allowing filesharing and downloads to run in the background while gaming. This may still raise ping times minimally though. Therefore, we recommend you to keep "Favor Ping" activated at such times. By default, filesharing programs are set to very low priority. Now, this should not be taken to mean they are artificially slowed or even altogether stalled. What it does mean, however, is that such data will be briefly delayed when more important data like online game traffic needs to be transmitted. Only this priority scheme makes it possible to have filesharing programs run at maximum transfer rates while still using the same connection for other applications at the same time.

Powered by cFos Personal Net Web Server
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty

» cFosSpeed Dokumentation, Wie beschleunige ich Online-Games?

Mit cFosSpeed Programme priorisieren
  Programm-Liste
  Neues Programm vorschlagen

Wie beschleunige ich Online-Games?

Traffic Shaping erlaubt gute Ping-Zeiten und gleichzeitig hohe Transferraten.

Für optimalen Ping bei Online-Games müssen Sie Ihr Spiel hoch priorisieren. Unter Einstellungen, Programme, haben wir einige der bekanntesten Spiele bereits eingetragen. Falls Ihr Spiel nicht dabei ist, können Sie es hier hinzufügen.

Einstellungen Programm-Priorisierung

Sie können uns hier auch über Online-Spiele, die sich noch nicht in der Liste befinden, informieren.

Achten Sie darauf, dass möglichst wenig Daten hoch priorisiert sind. Denn wenn Sie alles hoch priorisieren, kommt es aufs gleiche heraus, als wenn gar nichts priorisiert ist.

Falls der Programm-Name nicht klar festzulegen ist, können Sie auch die Ports, die Ihr Online-Game benutzt, priorisieren. Wenn die TCP/UDP Ziel-Ports einer Anwendung bekannt ist, können Sie deren Datentransfer folgendermaßen bevorzugen (bearbeiten Sie dazu die Sektion [filter] in der Datei settings.ini):

Für TCP-Ports:<br />[filters]<br />; dest port=1234<br />filter=-tcp-dport 1234 -c high
Für UDP-Ports:<br />[filters]<br />; dest port=1234<br />filter=-udp-dport 1234 -c high

Nach dem Ändern und Speichern müssen Sie die neuen Einstellungen einlesen, indem Sie auf Start, Programme, cFosSpeed, Konsole öffnen klicken und eingeben "spd reload". Danach und nach allen weiteren Neustarts sind die Änderungen aktiv.

Handbuch für cFosSpeed-Filter. (englisch)

DSL Anschlusseinstellungen

Anschluss-Einstellung optimieren:

Unter Einstellungen, Verbindungen können Sie für Ihre Verbindung das genaue Übertragungsmedium einstellen. Je mehr cFos bzw. cFosSpeed über den Anschluss weiß, desto besser die Ping-Zeiten. Standard ist "Adaptiv". Wenn Sie aber z.B. einen DSL-Anschluss haben, sollten Sie als Medium die für Ihren Anschluss zutreffende DSL-Variante wählen.

Ping-Zeit bevorzugen:

Anzeige Ping-Zeit bevorzugen

Zusätzlich können Sie in den Einstellungen, im Kontext-Menu und im Status-Fenster auch noch "Ping-Zeit bevorzugen" aktivieren. Im Status-Fenster erscheint dann ein grüner Pfeil. Mit dieser Einstellung bevorzugt cFos bzw. cFosSpeed die Ping-Zeit so stark, dass sogar kleinere Einbrüche in der Transferrate in Kauf genommen werden.


Spielen und gleichzeitiges Downloaden:

Wenn Sie - ohne Traffic Shaping - ein Spiel im Netz spielen und gleichzeitig einen Upload oder Download laufen haben, werden Ihre Ping-Zeiten zum Gameserver schlechter. Je weniger Traffic auf der Leitung, desto besser der Ping. Bei Tauschbörsen und anderen Programmen, die viele Daten versenden, steigt die Ping-Zeit extrem an (lag). Dadurch werden Ihre (Re)aktionen im Spiel wesentlich langsamer.

Mit Traffic Shaping entschärft sich dieses Problem. Traffic Shaping erlaubt, während des Spielens noch Tauschbörsen und Downloads zu betreiben. Dies kann allerdings die Ping-Zeit minimal erhöhen. Hier empfehlen wir, "Ping-Zeit bevorzugen" zu aktivieren. Tauschbörsen sind standardmäßig sehr niedrig priorisiert. Das bedeutet aber nicht, dass sie künstlich ausgebremst werden, sondern nur, dass deren Daten in dem Falle verzögert werden, wenn wichtigere Daten (z.B. Game Traffic) vorliegen. Dieses Prioritätsschema macht es überhaupt erst möglich, der Tauschbörse maximale Transfer zu erlauben und den Anschluss gleichzeitig noch für andere Anwendungen zu nutzen.

Powered by cFos Personal Net Webserver
Practice random kindness and senseless acts of beauty